Saturday, May 19, 2018

Review A Quick Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns

A Quick & Easy Guide to They/Them PronounsArchie, a non-binary artist, gets irritated when people misgender them. He's teaming up with his straight white friend, Tristan, to talk about it. They share their thoughts and feelings on the matter and explain why asking people for their pronouns is the right thing to do. And of course why it's important to use the right pronoun.

My Thoughts: The world is changing and it's hard for some people to understand and learn about others. But this book makes it easy and now there aren't any excuses. Share this book widely and don't be a jerk about anyone's identity. 

Cover Thoughts: Cute
Source: ARC sent for review
Release Date: June 12th
Library Recommendation: A must have book for school and public libraries.


Friday, May 18, 2018

Graphic Novel Review: Prince and the Dressmaker


The Prince and the Dressmaker

Prince Sebastian has a secret and he's not willing to share it. There are days when he likes being a prince and there are days when he likes dressing in dresses. When he spies a dress created by Frances, he tracks her downs and offers her a job as his personal seamstress. 

Frances can't believe her good fortune; she loves creating and designing dresses. 

Soon the two become great friends. But Sebastian's secret is hard to keep when Frances has the opportunity to meet her role model. Keeping the Prince's secret means keeping her identity a secret as well.

My Thoughts: I really loved this graphic novel; I didn't want it to end. I loved the art work. I loved the fashion. I loved the friendship between Frances and Sebastian. I felt bad for both of them dealing with this secret and trying to live in the palace. I loved Sebastian's parents. Believe the hype about this graphic novel because it's true!

Cover Thoughts: Adorable.
Source: my Library
Library Recommendation: Grab this one for all public libraries!




Thursday, May 17, 2018

Review: Marley Dias Gets it Done

Marley Dias Gets It Done: And So Can You!

Marley Dias spreads her knowledge about making the world a better place through activism. She's only in high school but already she's made a difference and she's not done yet.
My Thoughts: Marley Dias is amazing. I loved this book - it's smart and funny. Plus it really makes you want to become an activist. I love the photographs of her - and her love for fashion. This book is inspirational; there's so much information in here. Marley talks about how to use social media for good, the difference between volunteering and activism, how to use the power of adults to help a cause, and how and why she started her project.  She's certainly someone to admire and someone to watch.

Cover Thoughts: Cute
Source: My Library
Library Recommendation: Great for school and public libraries - this one is a must have for your shelves.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Picture Book Review: Girl Running


26241170

This is story of Bobbi Gibb - the first woman to run in the Boston Marathon.

This book was SO inspiring - it actually made me want to run. I loved the solidarity with the male runners (not the officials). I loved how she broke the mold and other female runners followed. This book gave me all the feels.

A must have for your public and school libraries.

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Bikes

This week's topic is a freebie, so I'm sharing covers with bikes on them. They're quaint and draw my eye to the cover. I hope this is becoming a trend. Do you find these covers appealing?



By the BookThe Late Bloomers' ClubKiss Me (Fool's Gold, #17)Beach Lane (Chesapeake Shores #7)He's So Fine (Lucky Harbor, #11)
My Oxford YearThe Rules of Love & GrammarThe Paris KeyAlong for the RideWhere You'll Find Me



Monday, May 14, 2018

Giveaway: Summer of Magic and Mazes

I'm so lucky!
Disney-Hyperion is partnering with me for this awesome giveaway! New books and new covers from Rick Riordan!


Featured Rick Riordan Titles

The Trials of Apollo (Book 3): The Burning Maze (in stores May 1st)
The Kane Chronicles: Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual (in stores May 1st)
The Kane Chronicles Trilogy (series re-design in stores now!)
 
The Burning Maze
The Trials of Apollo Book #3
 
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)The formerly glorious god Apollo, cast down to earth in punishment by Zeus, is now an awkward mortal teenager named Lester Papadopoulos. In order to regain his place on Mount Olympus, Lester must restore five Oracles that have gone dark. But he has to achieve this impossible task without having any godly powers and while being duty-bound to a confounding young daughter of Demeter named Meg. Thanks a lot, Dad.
 
Friends both familiar and new will emerge in The Burning Maze, Book Three of the New York Times #1 best-selling Trials of Apollo series, a twisty adventure featuring a hapless god who somehow still manages to think he's red-hot.
 
More about The Trials of Apollo series:

  • An Olympian Comes to Earth: The protagonist is nothing less than Apollo himself! Well, actually, he’s a mortal sixteen-year-old trying to earn his way back into Zeus’s favor by restoring five oracles. How will he manage without his godly powers?
 
  • A Godly POV: Apollo narrates the adventure; the disparity between his godly assumptions and his disappointing reality is hilarious.
 
  • Favorite Demigods Are Back! All of the beloved characters from Camp Half-Blood and Camp Jupiter will aid Apollo in his quest over the course of five books.
 
  • New Demigods Are Introduced, including Apollo’s sidekick, a twelve-year-old girl named Meg who is secretive about her past—and is Apollo’s secret weapon.
 
  • Viperous Villains will complicate matters for our heroes as they search for the ancient Oracles.
 
Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual
The Kane Chronicles Companion

Brooklyn House Magician's Manual (The Kane Chronicles)
Calling all young magicians of Egypt! If the blood of the pharaohs runs in your veins, you can't afford to be without this guide to Ancient Egyptian deities and creatures, and Carter and Sadie Kane's world of magic. Featuring fans’ favorite human, divine, and animal characters for the bestselling Kane Chronicles trilogy, Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual offers info about Egyptian mythology in laugh-out-loud entries with surprises throughout, including snarky comments from Sadie Kane and a dastardly plot by an old enemy.


 
More about Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual:
 
  • Tie-in to Best-Selling Kane Chronicles Trilogy featuring fans' favorite human, divine, and animal characters.
 
  • Offers Info About Egyptian Mythology in laugh-out-loud entries from favorite characters.
 
  • Has Surprises Running Throughout, including snarky comments from Sadie Kane and a dastardly plot by an old enemy.
 
The Kane Chronicles Trilogy
The Red Pyramid #1 | The Throne of Fire #2 | The Serpent’s Shadow #3
Series first launched in 2011
New cover designs released April 3, 2018

The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles #1)The Kane Chronicles, Book Two The Throne of Fire (new cover)The Serpent's Shadow (The Kane Chronicles #3)
 
Fans of Rick Riordan's Greek & Roman and Norse mythology adventures will love his funny and exciting take on Ancient Egypt in the Kane Chronicles trilogy, now with dynamic new cover artwork and Percy Jackson-Kane Chronicles crossover stories.
 
More about The Kane Chronicles series:
 
  • Mysteries of Ancient Egypt: Egyptian mythology is more widely studied in school curriculum than ancient Greece. Both familiar and loaded with mystique, ancient Egypt is the perfect backdrop for Rick's imaginative brand of storytelling. Readers will leap at this real-world portal into the rich fantastical world of ancient myth.
  • More of the Good Stuff: Rick combines all his fortes--witty, relatable heroes, gods & monsters, prophecies, curses, and non-stop action--in this best-selling hit 

Official Link + Social Media
Follow Read Riordan on Twitter | Instagram | Facebook
Follow Disney-Hyperion on Twitter | Instagram | Facebook


Confirmed Prizing
Summer of Magic and Mazes!
One (1) winner receives a “Summer of Magic and Mazes” beach tote plus seven Rick Riordan books!
  • The Trials of Apollo series -- with an autographed copy of The Burning Maze!
  • The Kane Chronicles trilogy – plus new companion book Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual!
 
Giveaway open to US addresses only.
Prizing and samples provided by Disney-Hyperion.

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Graphic Novel Review: All Summer Long


All Summer Long

Bina's thirteen and going into 8th grade. Her BFF is leaving her for a whole month to go to soccer camp. Worse, he said they're too old for the summer index of fun. Bina's not sure what to do with her summer. She spends the first week binge watching a British TV show until her mom cuts off the internet and forces her to interact with the real world. She hardly hears from Austin. But luckily she has music to help occupy her time. She's learning a new song. Could this be the answer to her terrible summer?

My Thoughts: I really enjoyed this graphic novel. I liked how Bina branches out during her boring summer, how she found new interests, and how she made new friends. I liked the moments of her listening to music and how it made her feel. I liked her moments with Austin and how they weren't romantic but simply best friends. I loved the different friendships throughout the story.

Cover Thoughts: Great
Source: Book sent for review
Library Recommendation: This middle grade graphic novel is perfect for the collection and perfect for this year's summer reading theme.